Recipe: Dragon Fruit and Banana Green Smoothie Attempt #2 (No Added Sugar or Sweeteners!)

November 18, 2015

You’ll find that I don’t have a post up for my green smoothie attempt #1 up because it was a DISASTER! I’ve since tried to eradicate that particular disaster from my mind (lets just say, spicy green chutney in a smoothie – even by mistake – is a sure way to die by acid reflux…).

Anyway, attempt #2 was a success and I really liked the combo of ingredients in this one! Plus, it doesn’t call for sugar, honey, or maple syrup! Unless it’s chocolate or pastries, I prefer my food & drink not too sweet anyway. So, the smoothie I made a few days ago was perfect! It was mild, sedated, had loads of texture, and tasted yum! I didn’t realize until I sat down to drink it that I hadn’t put anything other than 4-5 grapes and a few chunks of banana in for sweetness.

Try it and let me know what you thought!


Dragon Fruit and Banana Green Smoothie

Dragon Fruit and Banana Green Smoothie

**This recipe is nutritious and includes no sugar or sweeteners. It is mild and had lots of texture due to the dragon fruit and chia seeds**

This is a Quick, Sugar-Free, Raw, and Vegetarian Recipe!

Ingredients:

1/2 – 1 banana
1/4 dragon fruit
handful of grapes
small handfull spinach
1/2 Tbsp chia seed powered
1 glass (220ml) milk
ice cubes

Directions:

Put all of the ingredients into a high-powered blender and blend until smooth. Serve fresh immediately.

Note: If you’d like to up the sugar content of this smoothie, just add 1 Tbsp of sugar or twice the amount of grapes and banana and that should set you straight!
Optional: simply substitute the milk for soy milk or almond milk to make this recipe vegan!

Prep Time: 10 minutes
Serving Size: 2 glasses
Flavour: Mild Banana
Color: Light Green
Texture: Crunchy!

 

Leave a Reply

